Partners and supporters

The Reformation began in Wittenberg on 31 October 1517. With his 95 theses, Martin Luther changed the church, and the world. The concept of the Reformation spread rapidly, and during this time Martin Luther was involved in dialogue and confrontations with his supporters, patrons and opponents. Something along the lines of a ‘Reformation network’ was created.

Today there are 74 million Lutherans and 800 million protestants for whom the Luther sites in Eisleben and Wittenberg are a central point of reference for their cultural and religious identity. Countless institutes and organisations are involved in assessing the themes and protagonists of the Reformation. The Luther Memorials Foundation is also involved in wide-ranging collaborations, and is a partner and participant in numerous networks and associations.



The Federal State of Sachsen-Anhalt


Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (The Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media)


Lutherstadt Wittenberg


Lutherstadt Eisleben




Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland (Evangelical Church in germany)

Evangelische Kirche Mitteldeutschland (Evangelical Church in Central Germany)



Wege zu Luther e.V. [Routes to Martin Luther]

The key Luther locations are located in Central Germany in the States of Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia. Over the course of his lifetime, Luther spent time in Eisleben, the city in which he was born and also the location where he died 63 years later, Eisenach, where he spent some of his school years and later translated the Bible at Wartburg, Erfurt, where he studied and became a monk, and Wittenberg, where he lived and worked for more than 36 years. Schmalkalden and Torgau are another two locations that were important to Luther's life and work.

In these six Luther locations, tourism organisations and memorial sites commemorating the history of the Reformation got together in 2000 to establish the cultural history initiative ‘Wege zu Luther e.v.’ [Routes to Martin Luther]. The Luther Memorials Foundation of Saxony-Anhalt played an important role in the establishment of this association and continues to be closely involved in its work. The Chairperson and Director of the Foundation is the Senior Chairperson of the Association.


Luther – Bauhaus – Gartenreich

The Luther memorials in Wittenberg, the Bauhaus and the Masters’ Houses in Dessau and the Garden Kingdom of Dessau-​Wörlitz: like pearls on a necklace, these three UNESCO World Cultural Heritage sites are located on the Elbe in the direct vicinity.

Dessau and Lutherstadt Wittenberg are but 35 kilometres apart, and the Garden Kingdom is located right in the middle – just 17 kilometres from Dessau and 21 kilometres from Wittenberg. Rarely has it been possible to experience so much world history in such a small area. This is why the State of Saxony-Anhalt is marketing the region under the label ‘Luther | Bauhaus | Garden Kingdom’. The Luther Memorials Foundation of Saxony-Anhalt is an important partner in these efforts.


Conference of National Cultural Institutions (KNK)

The Conference of National Cultural Institutions (KNK) is a grouping of more than twenty institutions from the eastern German states. Its establishment on 1 March 2002 at the Francke Foundations of Halle was a result of the ‘Blue Book’ that was drawn up by Prof. Paul Raabe on behalf of the Federal Government and which called for cultural beacons in Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia.

The objective of the KNK is to preserve the cultural heritage in the new federal states and to ensure that the importance of its museums, collections, archives and gardens are permanently anchored in the awareness of government and the general public.


Other collaborations

Wartburg-Stiftung Eisenach

Tourism offers in Eisleben und Mansfeld

Tourism offers in Wittenberg

Campus Wittenberg

Kulturstiftung DessauWörlitz

Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

Reiseland Sachsen-Anhalt

Zum Seitenanfang scrollen